Working With Style: All human-like and junk

Duckface. And do I have a wonky eye here?

Look, please bear witness to the lips! THE LIPS! They are bathed in colour! COLOUR, I SAY!

This is excitement at its finest, folks. Because that girl in the photo to your left? She’s never worn lipstick before. <close your mouth>

I used to read Cosmo magazines by the dozens <close your mouth> and they all made it seem like guys liked low-maintenance girls. Two pages over, the quiz pinned low-maintenance girls as those that wear chapstick only and never ever lip liner. Plus, I drink a lot of water and am kind of incredibly lazy and don’t want to reapply lipstick over & over. So, chapstick was my best friend. I had the best moisturized lips on my university campus and was none the wiser that I looked almost identical to a ghost sitting in my economics class completely motherhumping clueless.

Fast forward a few years (10. when did THAT happen?) and I have a big girl desk job which requires me to look respectable. It turns out that I actually like to look respectable, I like to dress up, I like to sometimes do my hair nice, I like to experiment with makeup. Thanks to a series of #officefashionshow Instagram photos, I realized that I look completely ridiculous with no lipstick on. I am whiter than white and have very light eyebrows. I’m pretty good with eye make up, but the lower half of my face virtually disappears with my low-maintenance chapstick plan.

Exhibit A. Holy face upgrade, Batman.

See? And this isn’t even the brightest lipstick I own now. And I do own multiple lipsticks now. An amazing feat.

I’m all for low expectations, so it’s my goal to remember to apply lipstick at least three working days every week. So far I’ve been pretty good. I’m still not great at reapplying throughout the day, which I really need to be better at. I do hate when it gets all over my coffee mug, but at least that stops my husband from taking it to work with him, and that would probably happen less if I bought more expensive lipstick. But along with being lazy, I’m also cheap. (form an orderly queue, gentlemen)

And as it turns out? My husband does love a low-maintenance girl. It’s just that my low-maintenance has evolved over the years to become a much more polished version. It may take me 3 extra minutes in the morning to fish the lipstick out of my purse but I think it’s kind of worth it. Agree?

(gratuitous outfit post because I almost never wear this blazer)

Come on over & link up with us at Liberating Working Moms, we don’t bite! (much)

And if you’re on Twitter (or are you the creep who clicks on my twitter profile from this blog every.damn.day and won’t reveal yourself?) we’d love to have you join the party:

I just linked up with @babe_chilla over at @LiberatingWM for #WorkingWithStyle ! Come check it out! http://bit.ly/zmjlyv



6 thoughts on “Working With Style: All human-like and junk

    • I have a zillion different kinds. My mom works at a drug store so I have the luxury of trying without buying:) Anything I’ve bought is from the whatever-is-on-sale portion of the aisle, I think they’re usually Maybelline or something like that.

  1. I NEVER wear lipstick, but it is pretty amazing what a difference it makes in those two photos! Maybe I missed it, but did you mention what type of lipstick you like to wear? Have you found something that stays on?

    I’m curious why there is a urinal in the bathroom in the blazer outfit photo …

  2. I hate lipstick, mostly because I have funny shaped lips, I’m a chapstick and occasional lip gloss girl, myself. But holy shiz, you look awesome w/ some lipstick! And I love LOVE that blazer outfit.

  3. OMG you are the more funny person on the interwebs, I swear.

    I loathe the lipstick. LOATHE. Not on you, on me. But I am a glass fan so I try to work that out as much as possible. And hint: without chapstick ever, the lipstick starts to look horrible on your face. Cakes into the cracks and clinging to the disgusting dried lip skin? Keep up the chapstick regime nightly.

Talk to Meeeeeeeeee

